Cannes Film Festival Awards 2023

Cannes Film Festival Awards 2017 Official selection

In Competition

Palme d’Or – The Square by Ruben Östlund
70th Anniversary Prize – Nicole Kidman
Grand Prix – 120 Beats per Minute by Robin Campillo
Best Director – Sofia Coppola for The Beguiled
Best Screenplay
Yorgos Lanthimos and Efthymis Filippou for The Killing of a Sacred Deer
Lynne Ramsay for You Were Never Really Here
Best Actress – Diane Kruger for In the Fade
Best Actor – Joaquin Phoenix for You Were Never Really Here
Jury Prize – Loveless by Andrey Zvyagintsev

Un Certain Regard

Un Certain Regard Award — A Man of Integrity by Mohammad Rasoulof
Un Certain Regard Jury Prize — April’s Daughter by Michel Franco
Un Certain Regard Award for Best Director — Taylor Sheridan for Wind River
Un Certain Regard Jury Award for Best Performance — Jasmine Trinca for Fortunata
The Poetry of Cinema Award — Barbara by Mathieu Amalric


First Prize – Paul Is Here by Valentina Maurel
Second Prize – Animal by Bahman and Bahram Ark
Third Prize – Two Youths Died by Tommaso Usberti

Golden Camera

Caméra d’Or – Montparnasse Bienvenue by Léonor Sérraille

Short Films

Short Film Palme d’Or – A Gentle Night by Qiu Yang
Special Mention – The Ceiling by Teppo Airaksinen

Parallel sections

International Critics’ Week

Nespresso Grand Prize – Makala by Emmanuel Gras
France 4 Visionary Award – Gabriel and the Mountain by Fellipe Gamarano Barbosa
Leica Cine Discovery Prize for Short Film – Los Desheredados by Laura Ferrés
Gan Foundation Support for Distribution Award – Gabriel and the Mountain by Fellipe Gamarano Barbosa
SACD Award – Ava by Léa Mysius
Canal+ Award – The Best Fireworks Ever by Aleksandra Terpińska

Directors’ Fortnight

Art Cinema Award – The Rider by Chloé Zhao
SACD Award
Let the Sunshine In by Claire Denis
Lover for a Day by Philippe Garrel
Europa Cinemas Label Award – A Ciambra by Jonas Carpignano
Illy Prize for Short Film – Back to Genoa City by Benoit Grimalt

Independent awards


In Competition – 120 Beats per Minute by Robin Campillo
Un Certain Regard – Closeness by Kantemir Balagov
Parallel Sections – The Nothing Factory by Pedro Pinho (Directors’ Fortnight)

Ecumenical Jury

Prize of the Ecumenical Jury – Radiance by Naomi Kawase

L’Œil d’or Jury

L’Œil d’or – Faces Places by Agnès Varda and JR
Special Mention – Makala by Emmanuel Gras

Queer Palm Jury

Queer Palm Award – 120 Beats per Minute by Robin Campillo
Short Film Queer Palm – Islands by Yann Gonzalez

Palm Dog Jury

Palm Dog Award – Einstein for his performance as Bruno in The Meyerowitz Stories (New and Selected)
Grand Jury Prize – Lupo for Ava
Palm DogManitarian Award – Leslie Caron and her 17-year-old pet rescue dog Tchi Tchi

Prix François Chalais

François Chalais Prize –120 Beats per Minute by Robin Campillo
Vulcan Award of the Technical Artist[37][38]
Vulcan Award – Josefin Åsberg for The Square (set decoration)
Cannes Soundtrack Award[39]
Cannes Soundtrack Award—Oneohtrix Point Never for Good Time

Special awards

Honorary Palme d’Or – Jeffrey Katzenberg
Chopard Trophy – Anya Taylor-Joy and George MacKay
Carrosse d’Or[ – Werner Herzog

Cannes Film Festival Related Topics

Cannes Film Festival Awards 2017
Cannes Film Festival Winners 2017