Skip to main content

Cannes Film Festival 2017

The 70th Annual Cannes Film Festival commenced from 17 to 28 May 2017.

The 70th yearly Cannes Film Festival occurred from 17 to 28 May 2017, in Cannes, France. Spanish film chief and screenwriter Pedro Almodóvar was the President of the Jury for the celebration and Italian performer Monica Bellucci facilitated the opening and shutting functions. Ismael’s Ghosts, coordinated by French executive Arnaud Desplechin, was the opening film for the celebration.

The celebration praised its 70th commemoration. In late March 2017, the official blurb of the celebration was uncovered highlighting Italian performer Claudia Cardinale. The performing artist reacted, “‘I am respected and pleased to be flying the banner for the 70th Festival de Cannes, and charmed with this decision of photograph. It’s simply the picture I have of the Festival, of an occasion that lights up everything around … Happy commemoration!

The Palme d’Or was granted to the Swedish film The Square coordinated by Ruben Östlund, which additionally filled in as the end night film of the celebration


The Italian and German rightist administrations meddled in the choice of movies in late 1930s. Afterward, the French Minister of National Education selected to dispatch a global film celebration in France. Philippe Erlanger, the British, and the Americans bolstered this proposition. In spite of the fact that numerous towns were proposed as hopefuls, Cannes was praised the film celebration. Subsequently, Le Festival International de Cannes appeared.

  • In June 1939, Louis Lumière was chosen as the leader of the main celebration. The celebration was led from 1 to 30th September, 1939.
  • After World War II, the celebration restarted in the old Casino of Cannes in 1946. The French Foreign Affairs Ministry and the City of Cannes supported the celebration. The main Cannes Festival was a major achievement.
  • In 1947, the celebration was facilitated again as the Festival du film de Cannes in which just sixteen nations took an interest.
  • In 1948 and 1950, this celebration was not held on account of money related issues.
  • In 1951, the Cannes Festival moved to spring; and the Mostra proceeded in harvest time.
  • In 1962, the ‘French Union of Film Critics’ propelled the ‘Global Critics’ Week’ as the principal parallel area of the Cannes Film Festival.
  • The 1968 celebration was renounced on nineteenth May, 1968, in light of the fact that, a few chiefs pulled back from the challenge.
  • The Director’s Fortnight was established by Pierre-Henri Deleau in 1969.
  • In the 1970s, some essential changes occurred in the Festival.
  • In 1972, Robert Favre Le Bret was chosen the new President; and Maurice Bessy the Managing Director.
  • In 1978, Gilles Jacob was chosen to the President’s Position, and built up the Caméra d’Or grant and the Un Certain Regard area.
  • In 1984, the President of the Festival was Pierre Viot.
  • By 1995, the President, Gilles Jacob shaped la Cinéfondation.
  • The Cinéfondation finished in 2000 with La Résidence, and the President was Gilles Jacob in 2000.
  • The celebration was formally renamed as “Celebration de Cannes” in 2002.
  • The Cinéfondation finished in 2005 with L’Atelier.


The Cannes Film Festival programs are organized into different segments:

The Official Selection – The significant occasions of the celebration are given beneath:

  • In Competition
  • Un-Certain Regard
  • Out of Competition
  • Exceptional Screenings
  • Cinéfondation.
  • Short Films

Parallel Sections – The non-aggressive projects which are offered to find different components of film.

  • Cannes Classics
  • Tous les Cinémas du Monde
  • Caméra d’Or
  • Cinéma de la Plage

Other Sections – Created by outside relationship in the Cannes Festival.

  • Chiefs’ Fortnight
  • Worldwide Critics’ Week


  • ‘Marché du Film’ is the greatest and busiest motion picture market of the world.
  • “Masterclasses” acquaints world well known producers with the general population.
  • “Tributes” respects overall well known specialists who have showed up with the Festival Trophee.
  • ‘Makers Network’ is allowed to create overall co-preparations.
  • In 2007, Canes Film Festival had its ’60th Anniversary’.


Main competition

Pedro Almodóvar, Spanish film director and screenwriter (President)
Maren Ade, German film director
Fan Bingbing, Chinese actress
Park Chan-wook, South Korean film director
Jessica Chastain, American actress and producer
Agnès Jaoui, French actress and film director
Will Smith, American actor and producer
Paolo Sorrentino, Italian film director
Gabriel Yared, French-Lebanese composer

Un Certain Regard

Uma Thurman, American actress (President)
Mohamed Diab, Egyptian film director
Reda Kateb, French actor
Joachim Lafosse, Belgian film director
Karel Och, Czech artistic director of Karlovy Vary International Film Festival

Cinéfondation and short films

Cristian Mungiu, Romanian film director (President)
Clotilde Hesme, French actress
Barry Jenkins, American film director
Eric Khoo, Singaporean film director
Athina Rachel Tsangari, Greek film director

Caméra d’or

Sandrine Kiberlain, French actress (President)
Patrick Blossier, French cinematographer
Elodie Bouchez, French actress
Guillaume Brac, French film director
Thibault Carterot, French President of M141 Productions
Fabien Gaffez, French film critic
Michel Merkt, French film producer

International Critics’ Week

Kleber Mendonça Filho, Brazilian film director (President)
Diana Bustamante Escobar, Colombian film producer and artistic director of FICCI
Eric Kohn, American film critic
Hania Mroué, Lebanese director of Metropolis Cinema
Niels Schneider, French-Canadian actor

L’Œil d’or

Sandrine Bonnaire, French actress and film director (President)
Lorenzo Codelli, Italian film critic
Dror Moreh, Israeli film director
Thom Powers, American programmer and festival director
Lucy Walker, British film director

Queer Palm

Travis Mathews, American film director (President)
Yair Hochner, Israeli film director / founder and artistic director of TLVFest
Paz Lazaro, Spanish film programmer
Lidia Leber Terki, French film director
Didier Roth-Bettoni, French journalist and film historian

Cannes Film Festival Related Topics

Cannes Film Festival Awards 2017
Cannes Film Festival Winners 2017