Skip to main content

AHL Season 2019-20

The 2019–20 AHL season was the 84th period of the American Hockey League. The customary season started October 4, 2019, and was formally dropped on May 11, 2020. The 2020 Calder Cup end of the season games, which was additionally dropped, would have followed the finish of the ordinary season. The association suspended play on March 12, 2020, because of the COVID-19 pandemic in North America, and couldn’t continue play.

This was the last season under David Andrews’ 26-year residency as the leader of the group. He will be prevailing by Scott Howson.

2019–20 AHL season
LeagueAmerican Hockey League
SportIce hockey
DurationOctober 4, 2019 – March 12, 2020
Regular season
Macgregor Kilpatrick TrophyMilwaukee Admirals
Season MVPGerald Mayhew
Top scorerSam Anas


Atlantic Division

Bridgeport Sound Tigers
Charlotte Checkers
Hartford Wolf Pack
Hershey Bears
Lehigh Valley Phantoms
Providence Bruins
Springfield Thunderbirds
Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins

North Division

Belleville Senators
Binghamton Devils
Cleveland Monsters
Laval Rocket
Rochester Americans
Syracuse Crunch
Toronto Marlies
Utica Comets

Central Division

Chicago Wolves
Grand Rapids Griffins
Iowa Wild
Manitoba Moose
Milwaukee Admirals
Rockford IceHogs
San Antonio Rampage
Texas Stars

Pacific Division

Bakersfield Condors
Colorado Eagles
Ontario Reign
San Diego Gulls
San Jose Barracuda
Stockton Heat
Tucson Roadrunners
Henderson Silver Knights (20-21)


Eastern Conference

Final standings as of March 11, 2020

Atlantic DivisionGPWLOTLSOLPtsPts%GFGA
Providence Bruins (BOS)6238183382.661197154
Hershey Bears (WSH)6237183481.653187157
Charlotte Checkers (CAR)6134225073.598202172
Hartford Wolf Pack (NYR)6231206573.589171173
Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins (PIT)6329263566.524164193
Springfield Thunderbirds (FLA)6131273065.533190186
Lehigh Valley Phantoms (PHI)6224283758.468161186
Bridgeport Sound Tigers (NYI)6323335253.421152206
Belleville Senators (OTT)6338204181.643234197
Rochester Americans (BUF)6233204575.605181173
Utica Comets (VAN)6134223273.598210186
Binghamton Devils (NJ)6234244072.581189182
Syracuse Crunch (TB)6230234569.556202210
Laval Rocket (MTL)6230245368.548183182
Toronto Marlies (TOR)6129273263.516206212
Cleveland Monsters (CBJ)6224315255.444159192

Western Conference

Final standings as of March 11, 2020

Central DivisionGPWLOTLSOLPtsPts%GFGA
Milwaukee Admirals (NSH)6341145390.714211141
Iowa Wild (MIN)6337184482.651194171
Grand Rapids Griffins (DET)6329273465.516177193
Chicago Wolves (VGK)6127265362.508155175
Rockford IceHogs (CHI)6329302262.492156187
Texas Stars (DAL)6227283461.492171192
San Antonio Rampage (STL)6124257560.492161184
Manitoba Moose (WPG)6127331055.451160190
Pacific DivisionGPWLOTLSOLPtsPts%GFGA
Tucson Roadrunners (ARI)5836191275.647198163
Colorado Eagles (COL)5634183172.643188162
Stockton Heat (CGY)5530174468.618194170
San Diego Gulls (ANA)5730196268.596185164
Ontario Reign (LA)5729225164.561166198
Bakersfield Condors (EDM)5621275350.446162202
San Jose Barracuda (SJ)5521275249.445179192

Statistical leaders

Leading skaters

GP = Games played; G = Goals; A = Assists; Pts = Points; +/– = Plus-minus; PIM = Penalty minutes

Sam AnasIowa Wild6320507010
Reid BoucherUtica Comets5334336745
Gerald MayhewIowa Wild4939226168
Josh NorrisBelleville Senators5631306121
Alex Barre-BouletSyracuse Crunch6027295622
Drake BathersonBelleville Senators4416385424
Alex FormentonBelleville Senators6127265365
Brayden BurkeTucson Roadrunners5121315234
Chris TerryGrand Rapids Griffins5721305132
Daniel CarrMilwaukee Admirals4723275020

Leading goaltenders

GP = Games played; TOI = Time on ice (in minutes); SA = Shots against; GA = Goals against; SO = Shutouts; GAA = Goals against average; SV% = Save percentage; W = Wins; L = Losses; OT = Overtime/shootout loss

Dan VladarProvidence Bruins251407:086564231.79.9361471
Igor ShestyorkinHartford Wolf Pack251454:376984631.90.9341743
Connor IngramMilwaukee Admirals331905:419136121.92.9332155
Kaapo KahkonenIowa Wild342058:209727172.07.9272563
Vitek VanecekHershey Bears311832:118276922.26.91719101

Calder Cup Playoffs

The 2020 Calder Cup end of the season games was an arranged season finisher competition following the finish of the standard season to decide the victors of the American Hockey League. On May 11, 2020, American Hockey League President and Chief Executive Officer David Andrews cancelled the rest of the period and the Calder Cup end of the season games due to the COVID-19 pandemic. It is the first run through allied history that the Calder Cup won’t be granted.

AHL awards

Calder CupNot awarded
Les Cunningham AwardGerald Mayhew, Iowa Wild
John B. Sollenberger TrophySam Anas, Iowa Wild
Willie Marshall AwardGerald Mayhew, Iowa Wild
Dudley “Red” Garrett Memorial AwardJosh Norris, Belleville Senators
Eddie Shore AwardJake Bean, Charlotte Checkers
Aldege “Baz” Bastien Memorial AwardKaapo Kahkonen, Iowa Wild
Harry “Hap” Holmes Memorial AwardTroy Grosenick & Connor Ingram, Milwaukee Admirals
Louis A. R. Pieri Memorial AwardKarl Taylor, Milwaukee Admirals
Fred T. Hunt Memorial AwardJohn McCarthy, San Jose Barracuda
Yanick Dupre Memorial AwardTroy Grosenick, Milwaukee Admirals
Jack A. Butterfield TrophyNot awarded
Richard F. Canning TrophyNot awarded
Robert W. Clarke TrophyNot awarded
Macgregor Kilpatrick TrophyMilwaukee Admirals
Frank Mathers Trophy
(Eastern Conference regular season champions)
Providence Bruins
Norman R. “Bud” Poile Trophy
(Western Conference regular season champions)
Milwaukee Admirals
Emile Francis Trophy
(Atlantic Division regular season champions)
Providence Bruins
F. G. “Teddy” Oke Trophy
(North Division regular season champions)
Belleville Senators
Sam Pollock Trophy
(Central Division regular season champions)
Milwaukee Admirals
John D. Chick Trophy
(Pacific Division regular season champions)
Tucson Roadrunners
James C. Hendy Memorial Award
Thomas Ebright Memorial Award
James H. Ellery Memorial Awards
Ken McKenzie Award
Michael Condon Memorial Award
President’s AwardsOrganization:

All-Star Teams

First All-Star Team

  • Kaapo Kahkonen (G) – Iowa
  • Jake Bean (D) – Charlotte
  • Brennan Menell (D) – Iowa
  • Reid Boucher (F) – Utica
  • Josh Norris (F) – Belleville
  • Sam Anas (F) – Iowa

Second All-Star Team

  • Connor Ingram (G) – Milwaukee
  • Jacob MacDonald (D) – Colorado
  • Brogan Rafferty (D) – Utica
  • Gerald Mayhew (F) – Iowa
  • Alex Barre-Boulet (F) – Syracuse
  • Drake Batherson (F) – Belleville

All-Rookie Team

  • Cayden Primeau (G) – Laval
  • Joey Keane (D) – Hartford/Charlotte
  • Brogan Rafferty (D) – Utica
  • Alex Formenton (F) – Belleville
  • Josh Norris (F) – Belleville
  • Jack Studnicka (F) – Providence

2018–19 AHL season

LeagueAmerican Hockey League
SportIce hockey
DurationOctober 5, 2018 – April 15, 2019
Regular season
Macgregor Kilpatrick TrophyCharlotte Checkers
Season MVPDaniel Carr (Chicago)
Top scorerCarter Verhaeghe (Syracuse)
Eastern Conference championsCharlotte Checkers
  Eastern Conference runners-upToronto Marlies
Western Conference championsChicago Wolves
  Western Conference runners-upSan Diego Gulls
Playoffs MVPAndrew Poturalski (Charlotte)
Calder Cup
ChampionsCharlotte Checkers
  Runners-upChicago Wolves