Skip to main content

French Open Tennis 2022

The 2022 French Open was a Grand Slam tennis competition played on outside mud courts. It was held at the Stade Roland Garros in Paris, France, from 22 May to 5 June 2022, containing singles, duplicates and blended pairs play. Junior and wheelchair competitions are likewise booked. Novak Djokovic was the reigning champ in men’s singles, and Barbora Krejčíková was the reigning champ in the ladies’ singles.[1] Iga Świątek won the ladies’ singles occasion, catching her subsequent French Open crown, and Rafael Nadal won the men’s singles occasion, catching his record-broadening fourteenth French Open title.

The occasion got back to its full observer limit after the last two releases because of COVID-19 limitations in France. It was the 126th release of the French Open and the subsequent Grand Slam occasion of 2022. The fundamental singles draws incorporate 16 qualifiers for men and 16 for ladies out of 128 players in each draw. It was important for the 2022 ATP Tour and the 2022 WTA Tour. It was likewise the primary version of the competition to highlight a super tie break in the last set where the player would win first to ten focuses as rules are presently applied in Wimbledon and US Open.

This was the principal Grand Slam competition since the global overseeing assemblages of tennis permitted players from Russia and Belarus to keep on partaking in tennis occasions, yet not contend under the name or banners of Russia and Belarus until additional notification, because of the 2022 Russian attack of Ukraine.

2022 French Open Facts

Date 22 May – 5 June
Edition 126th
Category Grand Slam tournament
Draw 128S / 64D / 32X
Prize money €43,600,000
Surface Clay
Location Paris (XVIe), France
Venue Roland Garros Stadium

2022 Champions

Men’s singles
Spain Rafael Nadal
Women’s singles
Poland Iga Świątek
Men’s doubles
El Salvador Marcelo Arévalo / Netherlands Jean-Julien Rojer
Women’s doubles
France Caroline Garcia / France Kristina Mladenovic
Mixed doubles
Japan Ena Shibahara / Netherlands Wesley Koolhof

French Open Tennis Facts

Founded1891; 131 years ago
Editions126 (2022)
90 Grand Slam events (since 1925)
LocationParis, XVIe
VenueStade Roland Garros (since 1928)
Societé de Sport de Île de Puteaux, at Puteaux (1891–1894); Tennis Club de Paris, at Auteuil (1895–1908); Société Athlétique de la Villa Primrose at Bordeaux (1909); Croix-Catelan de Racing Club de France at the Bois de Boulogne (1910–1924, 1926); Stade Français at Saint-Cloud (1925, 1927)
SurfaceClay – outdoors[a] (1908–present)
Sand – outdoors (1891–1907)
Prize money€42,661,000 (2022)
DrawS (128Q) / 64D (16Q)
Current championsRafael Nadal (singles)
Marcelo Arévalo
Jean-Julien Rojer (doubles)
Most singles titlesRafael Nadal (14)
Most doubles titlesRoy Emerson (6)
DrawS (128Q) / 64D (16Q)
Current championsIga Świątek (singles)
Caroline Garcia
Kristina Mladenovic (doubles)
Most singles titlesChris Evert (7)
Most doubles titlesMartina Navratilova (7)
Mixed doubles
Current championsEna Shibahara
Wesley Koolhof
Most titles (male)Ken Fletcher /
Jean-Claude Barclay (3)
Most titles (female)Margaret Court (4)


Most singles titlesOpen EraRafael Nadal142005–2008, 2010–2014, 2017–2020, 2022
Pre-Open EraHenri Cochet41926, 1928, 1930, 1932
Note: Also won World Hard Court Championships in 1922.
French Championships*Max Decugis81903–1904, 1907–1909, 1912–1914
Most consecutive singles titlesOpen EraRafael Nadal52010–2014
Pre-Open EraFrank Parker
Jaroslav Drobný
Tony Trabert
Nicola Pietrangeli
French Championships*Paul Aymé41897–1900
Most doubles titlesOpen EraDaniel Nestor
Max Mirnyi
42007 with Mark Knowles, 2010 with Nenad Zimonjić, 2011, 2012 with Max Mirnyi.
2005, 2006 with Jonas Björkman, 2011, 2012 with Daniel Nestor.
Pre-Open EraRoy Emerson61960, 1962 with Neale Fraser, 1961 with Rod Laver, 1963 with Manuel Santana, 1964 with Ken Fletcher, 1965 with Fred Stolle.
French Championships*Max Decugis131902–1909, 1911–1914, 1920
Most consecutive doubles titlesOpen EraDaniel Nestor32010–2012
Pre-Open EraRoy Emerson61960–1965
French Championships*Maurice Germot101906–1914, 1920
Most mixed doubles titlesOpen EraKen Fletcher
Jean-Claude Barclay
31963–1965 with Margaret Court.
1968, 1971, 1973 with Françoise Dürr.
French Championships*Max Decugis71904–1906, 1908–1909, 1914 and 1920 with Suzanne Lenglen.
Most Championships
(singles, doubles & mixed doubles)
Open EraRafael Nadal142005–2008, 2010–2014, 2017–2020, 2022 (14 singles)
French Championships*Max Decugis281902–1920 (8 singles, 13 doubles, 7 mixed)
Women since 1897
Most singles titlesOpen EraChris Evert71974–1975, 1979–1980, 1983, 1985–1986
French Championships*Suzanne Lenglen61920–1923, 1925–1926
Note: Also won World Hard Court Championships in 1914, 1921–1923.
Most consecutive singles titlesOpen EraMonica Seles
Justine Henin
French Championships*Jeanne Matthey
Suzanne Lenglen
Most doubles titlesOpen EraMartina Navratilova71975 with Chris Evert, 1982 with Anne Smith, 1984–1985, 1987, 1988 with Pam Shriver, 1986 with Andrea Temesvári.
French Championships*Simonne Mathieu61933, 1934 with Elizabeth Ryan, 1936–1937, 1938 with Billie Yorke, 1939 with Jadwiga Jędrzejowska.
Most consecutive doubles titlesOpen EraMartina Navratilova
Gigi Fernández
51984–1985, 1987–1988 with Pam Shriver, 1986 with Andrea Temesvári.
1991 with Jana Novotná, 1992–95 with Natasha Zvereva.
French Championships*Françoise Dürr51967–1971
Most mixed doubles titlesOpen EraFrançoise Dürr31968, 1971, 1973 with Jean-Claude Barclay.
French Championships*Suzanne Lenglen71914, 1920 with Max Decugis, 1921–1923, 1925, 1926 with Jacques Brugnon.
Most Championships
(singles, doubles & mixed doubles)
Open EraMartina Navratilova111974–1988 (2 singles, 7 doubles, 2 mixed)
French Championships*Suzanne Lenglen151919–1926 (6 singles, 2 doubles, 7 mixed)
Unseeded championsMenMarcel Bernard
Mats Wilander
Gustavo Kuerten
Gastón Gaudio
WomenMargaret Scriven
Jeļena Ostapenko
Iga Świątek
Barbora Krejčíková
Youngest singles championMenMichael Chang17 years and 3 months (1989)
WomenMonica Seles16 years and 6 months (1990)
Oldest singles championMenRafael Nadal36 years and 2 days (2022)
WomenZsuzsa Körmöczy33 years and 10 months (1958)