Skip to main content

IPL T20 2019

The 2019 season of the Indian Premier League, otherwise called IPL 12, is the twelfth period of the IPL, an expert Twenty20 cricket class set up by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) in 2007. On 8 January 2019, the BCCI affirmed that the competition will begin on 23 March and occur totally in India. Different nations were considered as host the competition, because of the Indian general decisions.

India’s opening match at the 2019 Cricket World Cup was deferred from 2 to 5 June as the BCCI were coordinated to keep up a required 15-day hole between the finish of IPL and India’s ensuing global installation according to Lodha Committee’s proposal.

Delhi Daredevils have been renamed as the Delhi Capitals, the establishment reported on 4 December 2018. Amid a capacity for the declaration of the new name, the establishment likewise discharged another logo. Chennai Super Kings are the shielding champions

IPL T20 2019 Facts

Dates 29th March 2019–19th May 2019
Administrator(s) Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI)
Cricket format Twenty20
Host(s) South Africa
Participants 8

Indian Premier League (IPL)

Countries India
Administrator BCCI
Format T20
First Edition 2008
Next Edition 2019
Tournament format Double round-robin league and Playoffs
Number of teams 8
Current champion Chennai Super Kings (3rd title)
Most successful Chennai Super Kings and Mumbai Indians (3 IPL titles each)
Most runs Suresh Raina (5034)
Most wickets Lasith Malinga (154)


  • Chennai Super Kings LogoChennai Super Kings
  • Delhi Capitals logo Delhi Capitals
  • Kings-XI-Punjab-LogoKings XI Punjab
  • Kolkata-Knight-Riders-LogoKolkata Knight Riders
  • Mumbai-Indians-LogoMumbai Indians
  • Rajasthan-Royals-LogoRajasthan Royals
  • Royal-Challengers-Bangalore-LogoRoyal Challengers Bangalore
  • SunRisers-HyderabadSunrisers Hyderabad


Bangalore Delhi Hyderabad
Royal Challengers Bangalore Delhi Capitals Sunrisers Hyderabad
M. Chinnaswamy Stadium Feroz Shah Kotla Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium
Capacity: 35,000 Capacity: 41,000 Capacity: 55,000

Kolkata Knight Riders Rajasthan Royals
Eden Gardens Sawai Mansingh Stadium
Capacity: 68,000 Capacity: 25,000
Mumbai Mohali Chennai
Mumbai Indians Kings XI Punjab Chennai Super Kings
Wankhede Stadium Punjab Cricket Association IS Bindra Stadium M. A. Chidambaram Stadium
Capacity: 33,000 Capacity: 26,000 Capacity: 39,000


Territory Network
Afghanistan Lemar TV (2017-2018 Ariana 2019)
Africa (Sub-Sahara) SuperSport (2008–present)
Australia Network Ten (2008)
One HD (2009–2010)
Fox Cricket (2018–present)
Bangladesh Maasranga (2014–2016)
Channel 9 (2016–present)
Bhutan Sony (2008–2017)
Star Sports (2018–present)
Brunei Astro (2008–present)
Canada Rogers Media (Sportsnet World, Sportsnet One, Omni Television) (2011–2014)
Ethnic Channels Group
Caribbean SportsMax (2008–present)
Hong Kong PCCW (2010–present)
India Sony (2008–2017)
Star Sports (2018–present)
Malaysia Astro (2008–present)
Arab world OSN Sports (2015–2017)
BeIN Sports (2018–present)
Nepal Sony (2008–2017)
Star Sports (2018–present)
New Zealand Sky Sport (2012–present)
Pakistan Geo Super (2008–2018)
Singapore StarHub (2008–2017)
Singtel (2015–2017)
YuppTV (2018)
Sri Lanka Sony (2008–2017)
Star Sports (2018–present)
United Kingdom ITV4 (2011–2014)
Sky Sports (2015–2018)
Star Gold (2019)
BT Sport (2019)
United States Willow (2017–present; cable/satellite)
TV Everywhere (only digital rights)
Worldwide Internet Rights Times Internet (2011–2014)
Hotstar (2015–present)[98]


Title sponsorship

Sponsor Industry Period Sponsorship fee
DLF Real Estate 2008–2012 ₹200 crores
Pepsi Beverages 2013–2015 ₹238.08 crores
Vivo Mobile Phones 2016–2017 ₹190 crores
2018–2022 ₹2199 crores

Past Results

Season Final Final venue Number of teams Player of the series
Winner Winning margin Runner-up
2008 Rajasthan Royals 164/7 (20 overs) Won by 3 wickets Chennai Super Kings 163/5 (20 overs) DY Patil Stadium 8 Shane Watson
2009 Deccan Chargers 143/6 (20 overs) Won by 6 runs Royal Challengers Bangalore 137/9 (20 overs) Wanderers Stadium (South Africa) 8 Adam Gilchrist
2010 Chennai Super Kings 168/5 (20 overs) Won by 22 runs Mumbai Indians 146/9 (20 overs) DY Patil Stadium 8 Sachin Tendulkar
2011 Chennai Super Kings 205/5 (20 overs) Won by 58 runs Royal Challengers Bangalore 147/8 (20 overs) M. A. Chidambaram Stadium 10 Chris Gayle
2012 Kolkata Knight Riders 192/5 (19.4 overs) Won by 5 wickets Chennai Super Kings 190/3 (20 overs) M. A. Chidambaram Stadium 9 Sunil Narine
2013 Mumbai Indians 148/9 (20 overs) Won by 23 runs Chennai Super Kings 125/9 (20 overs) Eden Gardens 9 Shane Watson
2014 Kolkata Knight Riders 200/7 (20 overs) Won by 3 wickets Kings XI Punjab 199/4 (20 overs) M. Chinnaswamy Stadium 8 Glenn Maxwell
2015 Mumbai Indians 202/5 (20 overs) Won by 41 runs Chennai Super Kings 161/8 (20 overs) Eden Gardens 8 Andre Russell
2016 Sunrisers Hyderabad 208/7 (20 overs) Won by 8 runs Royal Challengers Bangalore 200/7 (20 overs) M. Chinnaswamy Stadium 8 Virat Kohli
2017 Mumbai Indians
129/8 (20 overs)
Won by 1 run Rising Pune Supergiant
128/6 (20 overs)
Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium 8 Ben Stokes
2018 Chennai Super Kings
181/2 (18.3 overs)
Won by 8 wickets Sunrisers Hyderabad
178/6 (20 overs)
Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai 8 Sunil Narine (Kolkata Knight Riders)


Records Player /
Stats Season /
Most wins Mumbai Indians 97 (2008–2018)
Most defeats Delhi Capitals 91 (2008–2018)
Highest win% Chennai Super Kings 61.56 (2008–2018)
Largest victory (runs) Mumbai Indians v Delhi Daredevils 146 2017
Most consecutive wins
Kolkata Knight Riders 9 2014
Most consecutive wins
Kolkata Knight Riders 10 (2014–2015)
Most consecutive defeats
Delhi Daredevils
Pune Warriors
9 2014
Most consecutive defeats
Delhi Daredevils
Pune Warriors
11 (2014–2015)
Most 100s Chris Gayle (KKR, RCB, KXIP) 6 (2008–2018)
Most 50s David Warner (DD, SRH) 36 (2009–2017)
Highest Partnership Virat Kohli (RCB)
AB de Villiers (RCB)
229 2016
Most ducks Harbhajan Singh (MI) 13 (2008–2018)
Most 4 wicket hauls Sunil Narine (KKR) 6 (2012–2018)
Most 5 wicket hauls James Faulkner (KXIP, PWI, RR ) 2 (2011–2017)
Most hat-tricks Amit Mishra (DC, DD, SRH) 3 (2008–2018)
Other Miscellaneous
Most matches Suresh Raina (CSK, GL) 176 (2008–2018)
Most matches as captain MS Dhoni (CSK, RPS) 159 (2008–2018)
Most man of the matches Chris Gayle (KKR, RCB, KXIP) 20 (2008–2018)
Most matches as umpire Sundaram Ravi 97 (2009–2018)