Rugby World Cup 2023

2023 Rugby World Cup Tournament details

Host nation France
Dates 8 September – 28 October 2023
No. of nations 20
Tournament statistics
Matches played All matches

Rugby World Cup

Sport Rugby union
Instituted 1987; 36 years ago
Number of teams 20 (finals)
Regions Worldwide (WR)
Holders South Africa (2019)
Most titles New Zealand (3 titles)
South Africa (3 titles)


France – TF1 Group,[10] France 2 et M6
Netherlands – Ziggo Sport
South Africa – SuperSport
United Kingdom – ITV
United States – NBC Sports
Australia – Stan Sport (all matches) and Nine Network (all Australia matches and the final)[14]
Italy – RAI and Sky Sport Italia
New Zealand – Sky Sport (New Zealand)
Ireland – RTÉ and Virgin Media


YearTotal attendanceMatchesAvg attendance% ChangeStadium Capacity% of Capacity


Gate receipts (M £)155581147131250
Broadcasting (M £)1944608293155
Sponsorship (M £)818162829
Surplus (M £)1418476412292150

Rugby World Cup Records


YearHost(s)FinalBronze FinalNumber of teams
WinnerScoreRunner-up3rd placeScore4th place
1987Australia &
New Zealand
New Zealand29–9FranceWales22–21Australia16
Scotland &
Australia12–6EnglandNew Zealand13–6Scotland16
1995South AfricaSouth Africa15–12
New ZealandFrance19–9England16
Australia35–12FranceSouth Africa22–18New Zealand20
AustraliaNew Zealand40–13France20
2007FranceSouth Africa15–6EnglandArgentina34–10France20
2011New ZealandNew Zealand8–7FranceAustralia21–18Wales20
2015EnglandNew Zealand34–17AustraliaSouth Africa24–13Argentina20
2019JapanFuture eventsFuture events20
2019 JapanSouth Africa32–12
International Stadium, Yokohama
EnglandNew Zealand40–17
Tokyo Stadium, Tokyo
Stade de France, Saint-Denis
Stade de France, Saint-Denis

2019 Rugby World Cup

Host nation: Japan
Dates: 20 September – 2 November
No. of nations: 20

The 2019 Rugby World Cup will be the ninth Rugby World Cup, to be held in Japan from September 20 to November 2. This will be the first run through the competition is to be held in Asia, the first run through sequential competitions have been arranged in a similar side of the equator, and furthermore the first occasion when that the occasion will occur outside the conventional heartland of the game.

Hong Kong and Singapore had communicated enthusiasm for facilitating a portion of the matches and were incorporated as a feature of the JRFU’s effective unique facilitating offered to the IRB however were not among the fourteen areas reported by coordinators Japan 2019 on 5 November 2014 that had formally offered for the privilege to have games.

The opening match of the 2019 Rugby World Cup will happen at Tokyo Stadium in Chōfu, and the last match will be held at International Stadium Yokohama in Kanagawa. These setting assignments were reported in September 2015 when arrangements for the competition were amended by Japan’s sorting out board of trustees and acknowledged by World Rugby. The National Olympic Stadium, being revamped for the 2020 Summer Olympics, was initially the centerpiece of Japan’s Rugby World Cup offer, yet modifications to the Olympic Stadium arranges commanded the World Cup scene changes.


The IRB asked for that any part unions wishing to have the 2019 or 2015 Rugby World Cup ought to show their enthusiasm by 15 August 2008. This would be simply to show intrigue; no subtle elements must be given at this stage. A record ten unions demonstrated enthusiasm for facilitating either the 2015 and additionally the 2019 occasions. The 2019 competition got enthusiasm from nine unique countries.

Jamaica were the most amazing union to declare an enthusiasm for facilitating the occasion, considering they had never taken an interest in a past World Cup, however they rapidly pulled back. Russia likewise at first reported arrangements to offer for both the 2015 and 2019 World Cups, yet pulled back both offers in February 2009 for what turned out to be a fruitful offered for the 2013 Rugby World Cup Sevens. Australia pulled back from the offering procedure on 6 May 2009.

The three potential hosts –Italy, Japan and South Africa– were reported on 8 May 2009. At a unique meeting held in Dublin on 28 July 2009, the International Rugby Board (IRB) affirmed that England would have the 2015 Rugby World Cup, and Japan would have the 2019 occasion. The IRB voted 16–10 for favoring the proposal from Rugby World Cup Ltd (RWCL) that England and Japan ought to be named has.

Rugby World Cup Facts

SportRugby union
Number of teams20
RegionsWorldwide (World Rugby)
HoldersNew Zealand (2015)
Most titlesNew Zealand (3 titles)

Rugby World Cup 2015 Pools

Pool APool BPool CPool D
  • Ireland
  • Scotland
  • Japan
  • Europe 1
  • Play-off Winner
  • New Zealand
  • South Africa
  • Italy
  • Africa 1
  • Repechage Winner
  • England
  • France
  • Argentina
  • Americas 1
  • Oceania 2
  • Australia
  • Wales
  • Georgia
  • Oceania 1
  • Americas 2